Washtenaw County Elections 2012: Democrats Win Top Five Jobs

Martinez-Kratz and Ping earn commission seats.

9:00 AM: The 2012 election was a big win for Democrats in Washtenaw County.  In many county races, they won by more than a 2-1 ratio over their rivals.

Winners included Brian Mackie for Prosecuting Attorney, Jerry Clayton for Sheriff, Lawrence Kestenbaum for Clerk, Catherine McClary for Treasurer, Evan Pratt for Water Resources Commissioner and Kent Martinez-Kratz for 1st District Commissioner. The 1st District race was the only close contest.

Third District Commissioner Alicia Ping was the lone Republican to win a county race, easily defeating challenger Wesley Prater.

Voters also selected Timothy Connors  and Carol Kuhnke for Circuit Court Judge positions. Also, incumbents Diana McKnight Morton and Richard Landau won reelection to the Washtenaw Community College Board of Trustees.   

5:30 AM: 100 percent of precincts are reporting. Democrat Jerry Clayton has been re-elected Washtenaw County Sheriff with more than 70 percent of the vote. Check the table above for more unofficial results.

8:10 PM: Polls are closed in Washtenaw County. Stay here on Patch for results and news throughout the night.

Washtenaw County voters will face many decisions today, from casting ballots for president to a number of state proposals.

In Washtenaw, voters also will cast ballots for prosecuting attorney, sheriff, clerk/register of deeds and water resources commissioner.

There are also positions up for grabs on the 22nd Circuit Court and the board of trustees for Washtenaw Community College.

Check here on Patch for information on the state races.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »